Task Group on Responsible Mining

Appointed on 8th May 2017 by the IAPG Secretary General

An IAPG Task Group on Responsible Mining (TGRM) has been formed on 8 May 2017 and officially appointed by the IAPG Secretary General, Silvia Peppoloni.
The goal of the TGRM is to draft a document on “Responsible Mining”, on values and concepts to be considered and their importance for future generations in the perspective of a sustainable development of our societies.
This document will give essential elements of reference to frame this important topic in an ethical perspective, in order to push different stakeholders to take into consideration (and possibly formally adopt) an orienting document which recalls them to the efficient and prudent exploitation and use of geo-resources, the respect of natural environment by minimizing the impacts of mining activities, the strong awareness of local populations and cultures, the adoption and application of high standards of quality and upgraded health and safety conditions in the working environment, the development of new innovative technologies and processes, and the implementation of eco-friendly and socio-friendly best practices.

The Task Group on Responsible Mining is composed of:

Jan Boon (Canada)
He has a Ph.D. in geochemistry. He is member of the Environment and Social Responsibility Society of the Canadian Institute of Mining and of the Instituto de Ingenieros de Minas del PerĂº.

Pekka Nurmi (Finland)
He has a long career at the Geological Survey of Finland (GTK), and is currently the Director of Science and Innovations, and the vice of the Director General.

Nikolaos Arvanitidis (Sweden)
He is an Economic Geologist. Presently he is Head of Economic Geology Division at the Geological Survey of Sweden (SGU).

Giuseppe Di Capua (Italy)
He is a research geologist at the Italian Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology (INGV). He is founder member and treasurer of the IAPG - International Association for Promoting Geoethics.

TGRM in the IAPG website: http://www.geoethics.org/tgrm

White Paper on Responsible Mining

The White Paper on Responsible Mining has been drafted by the IAPG - Task Group on Responsible Mining.
Drafting Committee: Nikolaos Arvanitidis, Jan Boon, Pekka Nurmi, Giuseppe Di Capua. 
With the contribution of: Vitor Correia, Roberto Lencina, David Ovadia, Mark Rachovides, Ian Thomson.
Approved by the IAPG Executive Council on 1th December 2017

How to cite:
Arvanitidis N., Boon J., Nurmi P. and Di Capua G. (2017). The White Paper on Responsibile Mining. IAPG - International Association for Promoting Geoethics, http://www.geoethics.org/wp-responsible-mining.

Read and download the White Paper on Responsible Mining: